Getting Settled: Decorating

image

image

image

image

We now have a beautiful driveway! Parking in the garage is the best thing ever!

image

image

image

image

image

image

We have talked about getting a golf cart for months, but never thought it would actually happen.  Don’s uncle had one that was in great shape it just needed some batteries. We got her running, and I don’t know how we ever made it without one.  It’s nearly a necessity around here.

image

Blinds are all installed!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

We had our final light fixture installed this morning and it is AMAZING!  Since the wine barrel was on back order for some time, I had the chance to pick out something different.  It is wonderful how things worked out, because this fixture turned out perfect!

img38o

img40o

image

image

image

image

image

image

Curtains….:) This is not my expertise!  I wanted something very simple and classic with a touch of rustic flare.  I love the cast-iron rods with rings and the crisp white.  They are beautiful in the dining room. We will be putting up the same curtains up in the living room.

image

image

image

image

image

We finally put the curtains up in our bedroom!  They look so elegant and sophisticated.  The perfect compliment to the taupe accents in the pillows.  Being that we are in the South, it’s pretty much a given to have something monogrammed!  I LOVE our pretty little accent pillow! It totally completes the bedding!

image

I love personal touches throughout the house that have meaning.  This is a sketch drawn early on in our house plan journey by Don’s dad, Mr. Otis.  It is so special to us that he took several months to create our home with us from the very beginning.

2934587_1

I finally got the last missing piece of furniture this week.  Mom and I found this iron headboard at Pier 1 for the guest bedroom.  Stay tuned for the finished product.  Hopefully I can talk the hubby into putting it up this afternoon!

69e66758294a

I’ve been eyeing this rug at Joss and Main for months.  I knew I wanted it somewhere in the house, but I just couldn’t decide where.  It’s also a lot harder than I thought to find the measurements you need for your space.  I’m putting this pretty thing in our hall off of the garage!

image

I literally have the sweetest friend in the whole wide world.  She is so thoughtful and constantly doing for others. Knowing my love for Joanna Gaines, Jackie contacted her store Magnolia Market about this beautiful cake plate and also explained to them how much she inspires me.  I will cherish this charming piece forever!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I had the best time making these easy sugar cookies! My husband and I share a love for sweets, so I am always baking or snacking on some sugary treat.  These would make the perfect cookies to whip up and let the kids decorate!

Leave a comment